Online Courses for Teen Girls Coming Monday 7/20/20!

 

At Girls’ Voices Matter, we’re getting ready for Online Courses for Teen Girls!

We’re very excited to bring you these four courses. Each one is designed specifically for the needs of teen girls. They focus on self-expression, creativity, awareness and empowerment.

Schedule: July 20, 21, 22, 23, & 24: 10:00 a.m. Pacific / 1:00 p.m. Eastern to 3:15 p.m. Pacific / 6:15 p.m. Eastern. All classes are one hour in length and occur each day for a total of five hours.

Classes take place on Zoom. Each course is $50, or $180 (15% discount) for all four classes.

Today, July 17, 2020 is the last day to register! Registration ends at midnight Pacific / 3:00 a.m. Eastern.

Session #1: Two Classes

We’ll kick off the week at 10:00 a.m. Pacific / 1:00 p.m. Eastern with Digital Storytelling: Image and Voice, followed by Flash Memoir: Writing From the Heart at 11:15 a.m. Pacific / 2:15 Eastern.

In Digital Storytelling: Image and Voice, girls will learn how to use images, text and voice to create short, personal videos.

Flash Memoir: Writing From the Heart introduces the practice of writing short, intense stories, using journal-writing and personal experience for inspiration.

Session #2: Two Classes

After a short break, we’ll start the second session with Feminist Media: Critique and Analysis at 1:00 p.m. Pacific / 4:00 p.m. Eastern. The day ends with Gaming for Girls: Creativity and Critique at 2:15 p.m. Pacific / 5:15 p.m. Eastern.

Feminist Media: Critique and Analysis takes a look at the media that surrounds us, from literature to anime. We’ll practice critiquing media for feminist and sexist themes, empowering girls to better understand the world around them.

Gaming for Girls: Creativity and Critique will educate girls on the rich history of women in video game history and teach girls to program their own video game via Scratch, MIT’s educational software for children.

Hope to see you Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: